The University of Wisconsin Press has published more than seventy collections of poetry since the inception of the Brittingham Prize in 1985.

Contact Us

Series Editors Sean Bishop & Ron Wallace
Program in Creative Writing
Department of English
600 N. Park St, H.C. White Rm 6195
University of Wisconsin
Madison, WI 53706

Submit to the Brittingham
& Felix Pollak Prizes in Poetry

Submissions will open in July 2021 for the Brittingham Prize in Poetry and the Felix Pollak Prize in Poetry, awarded by the University of Wisconsin Press. Please read the instructions carefully before proceeding to our Submittable submissions manager. All submissions must be accompanied by a $28 entry fee, payable by credit card. Our submissions deadline is September 15. Winners will be announced no later than February 15, and winning manuscripts will be published in early 2023.

The Brittingham and Felix Pollak Prizes in Poetry are awarded annually to the two best book-length manuscripts of original poetry submitted in an open competition. Each winning poet receives a $1,000 cash prize. All submissions will be considered for both prizes, and at least three additional manuscripts will be offered publication as part of the University of Wisconsin Press’s Wisconsin Poetry Series. There are no restrictions on the kind of poetry or subject matter, although translations are not acceptable.

Only manuscripts uploaded by September 15 will be considered, and due to the COVID-19 pandemic, we cannot consider postal submissions this year. The manuscript must be previously unpublished in book form. Poems published in journals, chapbooks, and anthologies may be included, but must be acknowledged. All submissions must be typed, in a single-spaced 8.5" x 11" document, 50–to-90 manuscript pages in length. Pages should be numbered. No changes in the manuscript will be considered between submission and acceptance. Simultaneous submissions to other contests are permitted provided the poet agrees to inform the Series Editors of the manuscript’s acceptance for publication elsewhere, and to withdraw the manuscript via Submittable if applicable.

Online submissions will close on September 15. After reading these instructions, you may access the Submittable submissions manager at,. You will be asked to upload a single pdf including a title page, table of contents, your poems, and (if applicable) an acknowledgments page listing any magazines or journals where the submitted poems first appeared. Your name and contact info should not appear anywhere in the document. You will be asked to pay a $28 submission fee.

This Year’s Judge:
Carmen Giménez Smith

We are thrilled to announce that this year’s Brittingham & Felix Pollak Prizes in Poetry will be selected by Carmen Giménez Smith. Smith is a former Guggenheim Fellow and the author of a memoir and six poetry collections, including Milk and Filth, a finalist for the 2013 National Book Critics Circle Award in poetry and Be Recorder, a finalist for a National Book Award and the PEN Open Book Award. She was awarded an American Book Award for Bring Down the Little Birds and the Juniper Prize for Poetry for her collection Goodbye, Flicker. She is the publisher of Noemi Press. With Steph Burt, she is the poetry editor of The Nation.

Brittingham & Pollak FAQ